At its high-profile annual ceremony on Ellis Island on May 11, 2019, the Ellis Island Honors Society (EIHS) awarded the 2019 Ellis Island Medal of Honor to composer Peter Boyer, among a group of eminent and notable recipients from many fields of endeavor.

Other 2019 Medalists included U.S. Congressman Adam Schiff, CNN’s Sanjay Gupta, singer/dancer Paula Abdul, former Google Executive Chairman Eric Schmidt, IBM CEO Ginni Rometty, MasterCard CEO Ajay Banga, former Coca-Cola Company CEO Muhtar Kent, United Nations World Food Programme Executive Director David Beasley, and Oscar-winning composer Tan Dun.

As described on the website of the EIHS: “The Ellis Island Medals of Honor are presented annually to a select group of individuals whose accomplishments in their field and inspired service to our nation are cause for celebration. The Medal has been officially recognized by both Houses of Congress as one of our nation’s most prestigious awards, and is annually memorialized in the Congressional Record.”

The presentation of the Medal to Boyer celebrated the national impact of his work Ellis Island: The Dream of America, and its PBS Great Performances television production with the Pacific Symphony.

Boyer stated: “I was overwhelmed and humbled to receive the Ellis Island Medal of Honor. Because of my work Ellis Island: The Dream of America, and my interest in Ellis Island’s history and legacy, I have been aware of the many distinguished Americans who have received this very special honor over the years. I was astonished to learn that I’d been chosen to receive this Medal, especially among the incredibly accomplished group of 2019 honorees. I am sincerely grateful to Chairman Nasser Kazeminy and all the members of the Board of the Ellis Island Honors Society for their recognition and support of my work, which are deeply meaningful to me.”

A full list of the 2019 Ellis Island Medal of Honor recipients can be seen here.

A full video of the 2019 Ellis Island Medal of Honor ceremony can be seen here.